My MOOC experiences

conversations and learning in the digital world

The Frainger Moocers #ds106

6 Comments

Physical pain is something that I cannot bear and deliberately inflicting pain upon yourself (eg. tattooing, piercing, etc. ) is beyond my comprehension. So when I saw one of my best frainger’s tattooed arm, I was a bit shaken. I couldn’t understand why she would do this. Then I got the context. She had joined another mooc, #ds106. It was only a temporary tattoo but I was hooked. It made a big impression on me as it was supposed to.

With this post, I am initiating myself and joining the cult with Ary and other fraingers.

Read more about the #ds106 mooc here

For the first day’s #dailycreate exercise:

Make an impression:
Take a picture of an indentation!

Here’s what I did:

Headless1

I created this image online using the site http://pixlr.com/ It’s a free image editing tool. You do not have to register to use it. Just upload the image you want to edit and start creating. It’s simple enough to use, much like MS Paint but it also has some advanced features of Photoshop. Do explore.

Borrowing Ary’s list of objectives from this course:

What do I want to learn in ds106:

  • Create eye popping GIFs 
  • Make more videos with lots of umph and pizazz
  • Tackle Tumblr and WordPress like a pro
  • Meet more digital fraingers
  • Discover and experiment with my visual voice
  • “Make ART damn it” every single day of my life for the rest of my life!
  • Roar louder than Katy Perry
  • Discovering more tools online to create ART

For day 2, #dailycreate exercise:

Edit an existing video clip to include an unexpected object in the story

Thanks again to Ary, I was inspired by her tattoo!

The tools I used to create this video:

  • Pixrl: To lose my head in the above above and add text.
  • Gifmaker: Just add images in the sequence you want and click done! It was that easy.
  • Computerhope.com: Download the YouTube videos that I wanted to edit.
  • OneTrueMedia:  Add video, edit, clip, add text slides, sounds and styles to create my video

Thanks Ary for inspiring me with your tattoo and enthusiasm. Frainge Days indeed!

6 thoughts on “The Frainger Moocers #ds106

  1. You did an amazing job Maddie! Fraingers for life! 🙂

  2. Eerily inspiring! I’m a bit slow this week since I really didn’t decide to join #ds106 until yesterday, but decided to explore what it means to be a head since you can’t be headless without one.

  3. Pixlr is a great tool isn’t it? Great job on the headless picture and welcome to ds106 😀

Your thoughts please

